August Goals

photo

So…July came and went, I guess? Whoops! The “dog days of summer” are definitely in full swing here in Florida and I am feeling it. But alas, this month, as I transition back to work, start my “new” job, and return to working full-time for the first time in over a year, life is all about to change.

My goals this month are small and simple in theory, but will take a lot of discipline and adjustment:

Mornings @ the gym on MWF

July found me in a really nice gym routine, but 2pm workouts aren’t going to cut it anymore. Since I know myself well enough to not expect to get to the gym after a full day of teaching (and walking, walking, walking…), that leaves me with the early mornings. Emphasis on early. Like, alarm going off at 4:30am early. I’ve always wanted to be the person who could do this, and when I was running regularly, I got into a good 7am routine, but this feels like the major leagues of commitment.

However, what I have going for me is that I’ve never enjoyed the gym like I do now. It is a sanctuary of sorts. And there is a 5:30am spin class, MWF, that would totally kick my butt. So, here’s to new beginnings in August. And coffee. Lots of coffee.

Get Ready in the Evenings 

My plan to make our lives easier in the morning is to off-load as much as possible into the evenings. Which means: laundry, lunches, E’s bag, my gym bag (with work clothes picked out), teaching bag, purse, coffee maker set up, quick morning snack ready to go, and post-workout breakfast packed. Also, gas in the car, and gym shoes and socks laid out. I pretty much already wear gym clothes to bed (t-shirt, sleep bra and leggings) so with minor adjustments, I think I can just sleep in my gym clothes, hop out into my shoes, and load the car.

In the dark.

Half asleep.

While not waking anyone else up.

HAHAHAHAHAH!

The biggest lesson I’ve learned so far in my journey to lose the baby weight is that where there is a will, there is a way. And my will really likes the progress I’m making, so I think I’ll just keep finding a way. 🙂

Happy August!

3 thoughts on “August Goals

  1. Get it girl! I want so desperately to become a morning person and I do think part of the trick is getting ready as much as possible the night before. Also, wish my husband would employ your technique of getting ready for the gym without waking anyone. He makes more commotion getting ready than anyone should at 5:30am to go work out.

  2. Great attitude with a 9 month old at home! You are doing a great job at both and have found the way, so keep it up girl! Love, mom.

Leave a Reply

