June Book Report

photo

I’m really proud of Evan for putting himself to sleep, and I’m proud of us for helping him get there, but I’d be lying if I said I didn’t really miss reading books while he was cuddled and asleep in my arms. It is truly amazing how fast the seasons change in a baby, and how quickly they’re on to the next thing. I have a feeling this will surprise me about parenthood forever.

Books I read this month (all from iBooks):

Sharp Objects and Dark Places by Gillian Flynn

Sometimes a creepy, absorbing thriller is just the ticket. I read Gone Girl last year and liked it a lot, but hated the ending and I guess I kind of wrote Flynn off. I’m so glad I went back to read her older two books. Of the three, Sharp Objects is my favorite. It was just so terribly detailed and disturbing. I finished it with all the lights on in the living room and was still totally creeped out for a while afterward. That’s when you know you’ve found a good writer.

All Fall Down by Jennifer Weiner

This was a pretty standard tale of entitled suburban overworked mom seeks a way out of her head and finds ____. In this case, it was pills. I finished this book because it wasn’t uninteresting, but it wasn’t worth paying full price. And it was fairly unforgettable.

What books are you loving right now?

Leave a Reply

