May Book Report

photo

Catching up on reading has always been one of my favorite things about summer, and I still love it just as much as I did as a child. Lately I’ve been relying heavily on iBooks because reading on my phone while E naps in my arms is about my favorite thing ever. I thought ebooks would hinder how much I read but I’ve found the opposite to be true.

In May I read…

IMG_4246

Overwhelmed: Work, Love and Play When No One Has the Time

Looking forΒ some tips and advice about how to strike a better balance between work/love/play, I thought this would be a good choice…but instead, this book is a well-researched account of how things are for women, vs. how they could be if we lived in, oh, Sweden. Overall, I learned a lot from this book (like, I have it pretty good at work) but the only major advice I took away was when both parents work, it can be useful to allow your child to pick and choose what you participate in at school. For example, John and I will never be able to attend every field trip, but we can allow Evan to choose who goes to what and when, and then make arrangements with work to make that a reality once or twice a school year.

Processed with VSCOcam with s3 preset

Mitten Strings for God: Reflections for Mothers in a Hurry

I wrote about this book in this post. Mostly, a good read to remind myself to slow down, savor the days, and take care of myself in order to be able to give my best to my family.

The Husbands Secret

This was a fun read. AΒ little too chick-lit for my usual taste. A bit predictable. But all-in-all, not a total waste. I needed an “easy” read at the start of the summer and this did the trick.

Delancey

Molly Wizenberg seems so cool. I LOVED her first book, and felt like I waited forever for this one. And I just liked it. It went by too fast, and I wish she’d gone into having her daughter. It made me crave pizza more than usual. But overall, I was probably too excited about this book, and it let me down.

We Were Liars

YA fiction is so easy-breezy to read, and I really think it’s great there are so many books for teens now, especially when they’re smartly written and we can all enjoy them as adults, too. I heard a lot of hype about this book and am glad I read it. Not a blow-your-mind book or anything, but a solidly good read. I finished this without much effort in about two days.

Bittersweet

This book. Holy crap. I loved every creepy, sexy, odd minute of it. It’s going to be hard to beat this one for me this summer, but we’ll see!

What are you reading? I’d love some book recommendations!

One thought on “May Book Report

Leave a Reply

