Postpartum Eating Habits

IMG_4383

There are so many things I’ve noticed that have changed since before I had Evan. However, nothing is more drastically different than my eating habits.

Currently:

I LOVE honey. I used to be indifferent (crazy, right?) but my doula gave me a honey stick somewhere during labor and I have been obsessed ever since. It’s honestly the only sugar, aside from fruit (and Starbucks coffee), that truly tastes good.

Lactose bugs me. I’m good with greek yogurt, and it’s not like cheese, ice cream or sour cream makes me ill, but I can tell how much more bloated and yucky I feel when I have any of that stuff (so by consequence, I find myself skipping the cheese on many things I wouldn’t have dreamed before).

I’m not afraid of fat. We were giving E coconut oil in his oatmeal once a day to help keep him regular and I noticed that despite that being “fattening” he hasn’t gotten fat. Instead, his skin is amazing, he smells like the beach, and *I* want to eat his oatmeal. Healthy fats (avocado, EVOO, coconut oil, etc.) are YUMMMY and keep me full. And they’re impossible to overeat..thinking about gorging on avocado makes me *shudder*.

Boring meals are my jam. Before Evan I made elaborate (and pricey…) meals at home just for the fun of it. I still really enjoy cooking, but who has the time for all that?! Instead of stressing about dinners, I’ve been shopping, prepping and cooking once a week to give us breakfasts and lunches, as well as a few dinners (the rest which only need minimal effort), and the result is that I’m losing weight, saving money, and TRULY enjoying special food when we go out to eat.

Snacks have to last. As E gets more active I am learning that when I do have time to get a snack, it’s got to be a good one, balanced with fiber, protein and carbs to keep me going. My go-to’s recently have been Larabars (Peanut Butter Cookie, specifically), and Fage plain yogurt, homemade granola, berries and a bit of honey. Both choices, combined with a sensible lunch, keep me full and happy until dinner.

Water for the long haul. I wrote recently about how shocked I was to discover our bodies can’t tell us the difference between hunger and thirst. Good thing I learned about that as dinner seems to be getting later and later these days. After the dinner/bath/bed routine is done, we’ve been retiring to the patio for dinner somewhere between 8-9pm. As much as we try, E doesn’t seem to get sleepy until it’s almost dark, and lately that has meant sitting in the chair in the nursery dreaming about dinner. I’ve been making an effort to drink more water, especially when I feel what I think might be hunger, and it’s amazing how much it helps me manage cravings and hold off on meals when I have to.

I’m sure I am forgetting something, but these all feel like big changes in a short amount of time, and I am pretty darn pleased with all of them because they’ve been mostly effortless, and have all helped me on the road to better health postpartum.

Leave a Reply

