My Favorite Baby Stuff (Months 3-4)

In no particular order…

1. Playtex Nurser Bottles

My mom swore by Playtex, but our pediatrician suggested Tommee Tippee. I enjoyed that the Tommee Tippee bottles had very “natural” nipples and were small enough for him to hold on to, even in the very early feedings. E has always been what I’d call “gassy” and while I know that’s common for babies, around 3 months it seemed he was really gassy. My mom suggested trying a different bottle and wouldn’t you know it… mothers are always right!

2. Renting a Sakura Bloom Ring Sling

In some weird way, baby wearing has helped me make peace with breastfeeding. I don’t consider myself a lifestyle baby wearer, but wearing E in any way, shape or form is just a wonderful experience. I rented a ring sling from QuirkyBaby.com and would highly recommend this to any new mom who wants to “try on” some different carriers.

3. Bright Starts Gym

Until a few weeks ago, E loathed traditional tummy time, and he didn’t want to be on his back in this thing for more than 5-10 minutes at most. He was happy using this gym on his back around two months, and then around 3 months, one day he played so enthusiastically that he fell asleep! Since then, this mat has been a go-to. Multiple times a day he practices turning around, rolling over, grabbing things, and now, finally, tummy time too!

4. Hyland’s Teething Gel

E started teething around 2 1/2 months and we tried Hyland’s and Orajel teething tabs. They worked wonders, but he started to get constipated so we scaled back on the tabs and started just using this teething gel. I am sure every baby is different, but this stuff works so well for E. On rough teething days this is such a lifesaver.

5. Carter’s Teething Bibs

I figured since E wouldn’t be eating anything substantial until 6 months+ that we’d just get bibs at that time. But then the drool started. And then it got worse. And now we’ve gotten through some days where I am literally just in awe of the amount of liquid this tiny little person can emit from his tiny little toothless mouth. During rough teething patches we’ve gone through 2-3 bibs a day, on average, and these are my absolute favorite. Also, now I finally understand why people asked me about bibs when I was pregnant!

6. Fisher-Price Jumperoo

My niece just turned one and still goes in her Jumperoo, and I’d heard from most moms this was the thing their babies loved around 4-5 months. That has absolutely held true for E, too. I found a gently used one from a mom on a local “swap and shop” Facebook group I’m part of, but it’s pretty close to the version linked above. My favorite features: it has three height settings, the seat is easy to remove and machine washable (great because E drools ALL over it), and so far it’s been a place he’s incredibly happy for anywhere from 15 minutes to almost 45 minutes. It’s also light enough to drag around the house, which has proven extremely useful for those days when he decides he doesn’t want me out of his sight. A mama’s gotta do what a mama’s gotta do!

Leave a Reply

