One Little Word – 2014

I’m not a resolutions person, but I do love the reflection the end of a year brings and the new beginnings that come with the new year. And I like to do something to celebrate the turning of the calendar…

Last year I discovered Ali Edward’s “One Little Word” concept. I was immediately in love. Not a goal, not a resolution, but an intention to focus on the qualities of one word for a whole year, and just “live with it… invite it into you life… let it speak to you. You might even follow where it leads.”

My word for 2013 was adventure and with all the peaks and valleys this past year brought us, I couldn’t have imagined a better word. Throughout the year, when I was scared, anxious, worried or apprehensive about a new challenge (it was a busy year!), I tried to reframe whatever-it-was as an adventure. And man, did it work to improve my attitude about tough stuff. By the end of the year, I found myself casually using the word and really feeling a sense of adventure in unlikely situations. 2013 was an incredibly challenging and an incredibly magical year and I think adventure really helped me get through it.

My word for 2014 is determination. Whereas the beginning of 2013 was a lot like throwing confetti in the air and seeing where it landed, the beginning of 2014 is decidedly intentional. John and I have this new parenthood gig that we are working on, one sleep-deprived night at a time. Naturally we have a lot of things we are determined to do as Evan’s parents. We also have a lot of things we are incredibly motivated to accomplish career-wise, in part because it is so not about us anymore. We also have serious financial goals. And I really want to lose this baby weight. Much of life this year is going to call upon my sheer determination. And admittedly, sometimes I give up on things too easily. So determination it is – bring it on, 2014!

One thought on “One Little Word – 2014

  1. Pingback: 30 Days of 30 Day Shred | it's all imperfect

Leave a Reply

